Understand Government

Local Government: Ward 74

Local: Ward 74
The City Cape Town municipality is divided into municipal districts and wards. The councillors (representatives) of these wards sit in the City Council which has 221 members.
Hout Bay is Ward 74 and the current Ward Councillor is Roberto Quintas elected to serve 2017-2022.
Ward 74 is a part of Subcouncil 16. The Subcouncil Chairman is Marius Coetsee

Some examples of what the local municipality is responsible for:
• building plan approval
• drainage
• electricity
• municipal roads
• noise control
• rates collection
• refuse removal and cleansing services
• regulating abattoirs
• regulating street trading
• sanitation service
• street lighting
• water
• air quality

City: Cape Town

The City of Cape Town’s role as municipality is to provide basic services, as well as promote a safe and healthy environment, and community development.
In Hout Bay:

Provincial: Western Cape

Provincial Government makes and administers provincial laws and policies in its areas of jurisdiction (e.g: liquor licenses, provincial planning, cultural matters, recreation, roads and traffic, education, health, social services). It shares certain areas with national government, such as health, education and social services.

In Hout Bay:

  • Schools (Western Cape Education Department) Hout Bay High School, Silikamva High School, Sentinel Primary, Oranjekloof Moravian Primary School, Disa Primary, Kronendal Primary
  • Hout Bay Harbour Community Health Clinic (Western Cape Department of Health) [map]
  • The Hout Bay Museum (Department of Cultural Affairs & Sport) [map]
  • Hout Bay Community Policing Forum (Department of Community Safety)
  • Subsidized Organizations:
    • James House (Child and Youth Care Centre Department of Social Development)
    • Sijonga-Phambili Community Learning Centre (ABET and Community Learning Centres Western Cape Education Department)
    • Hout Bay APD (Department of Social Development)


National Government makes laws and sets policy for the whole country. It also provides certain services:

  • SAPS – South African Police Services: In Hout Bay corner of Main Rd. and N. R. Mandela Rd.
  • Issuing ID Books – Home Affairs: Mobile Home Affairs unit visits Hout Bay, Otherwise closet office is Maynard Mall, 70 Main Rd, Wynberg
  • South African Social Security Agency (SASSA) – comes to HB to pay out social grants monthly.

Harbour – Hout Bay Harbour is managed by the national departments of Public Works and Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries